BCL News

February 12, 2021


Each team to play seven BCL games; 50th BCL Tournament set for March 22-24-26

BALTIMORE - The Baltimore Catholic League announced its' 2021 schedule of regular season games for the league's 50th season of play.

Due to the pandemic, the 2020-21 winter sports season has been shortened. Rather than the double round-robin schedule that has been in place since the beginning of the league in 1971-72, each of the eight BCL schools (Archbishop Spalding, Calvert Hall, John Carroll, Loyola, Mount Carmel, Mount St. Joseph, St. Frances and St. Maria Goretti) will play their opponents only once as part of the larger Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA) A Conference schedule. All BCL schools, except for St. Maria Goretti, are members of the MIAA.

Defending regular-season champion St. Frances will open the 50th BCL season at Archbishop Spalding on Wednesday, Feb. 17, while Mount St. Joseph will travel to John Carroll the same day. Games will be played each Monday, Wednesday and Friday through Wednesday, March 17. A total of 28 BCL regular-season games are scheduled. Makeup dates (if necessary) are available March 18-20.
No spectators will be allowed to attend BCL games during the regular season, but that policy is subject to change.

"While the 50th Baltimore Catholic League season will be different due to the pandemic, what won't change is the tradition of great competition between our schools at each game," said BCL Commissioner Jack Degele. "The school presidents, principals, athletic directors, coaches and staff at every school have put in place safety protocols to provide a return to athletic play for their students. The Baltimore Catholic League is proud to be a part of that effort, and we look forward to celebrating our 50th season of competition."
The 50th Baltimore Catholic League Tournament will be held on Monday, March 22 (first round at higher seeds), Wednesday, March 24 (semifinals - site TBA) and Friday, March 26 (championship - site TBA). More information on the 50th BCLT will be announced in the coming weeks. St. Frances is the three-time defending BCLT champion.
Calvert Hall, Loyola and Mount St. Joseph are the remaining original members of the Baltimore Catholic League when it was founded in May 1971. The BCL added St. Maria Goretti (1984-85), St. Frances (1988-89), Archbishop Spalding (1997-98), John Carroll (2010-11) and Mount Carmel (2011-12) to round out the current eight-team alignment.


ABOUT THE BALTIMORE CATHOLIC LEAGUE: In its 50th season in 2020-21, the Baltimore Catholic League (BCL) is comprised of eight Catholic high schools in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Harford County and Washington County — Archbishop Spalding High SchoolCalvert Hall CollegeThe John Carroll SchoolLoyola BlakefieldMount St. Joseph High SchoolOur Lady of Mount Carmel SchoolSt. Frances Academy and St. Maria Goretti High School. The league, founded for the 1971-72 school year, is one of the most prestigious boys high school basketball leagues in the country. Several alumni have gone on to star in college basketball at all levels and in the NBA. Jack Degele is in his 21st season as the Baltimore Catholic League commissioner. The league's website can be found at bclbasketball.com and the BCL can also be followed on Twitter at @bclbasketball.